Girls run second at Kittitas meet

Elaina Thomsen clears the final barrier to win the 300 meter hurdle race at Kittias. (Phyllis Browning photo)


By Joel Harding

The Waterville boys and girls track teams participated in the K Valley Rally track meet April 17. The meet, which included 17 teams from 1A to 1B classifications, was held at Kittitas Secondary School. The Shocker girl’s team was second only to Kiona-Benton, a 1A school from the Tri-Cities area. Bridgeport finished third and Entiat came in fourth. There were generally about 30 competitors in each event for both boys and girls.

Kelsey Browning had the highest point total for Waterville, winning the 400 meter run, the 800 and the 1600. She defeated Karina Ricon of Brewster in the 800 and the 1600 and won the duel with Deserie Parks of Entiat in the 400. Elaina Thomsen garnered a win in the 300 hurdles, a tie for first in the high jump and a 10th in the 200. Taylor Willms won by half a lap around the 400 meter track in the 3200 meter run. Willms also placed fourth in the 1600 meters and sixth in the 800. Brooke Simmons took a fifth place in the 100 meters, a sixth in the 400 meters and a fifth in the 300 meter hurdles. The 4×200 relay team of Lexie Deishl, Thomsen, Simmons and Browning ran to a fourth place.

For the boys, Dayn Madsen and Chris Dronen were the point winners. Madsen sprinted to an eighth in the 100 meters and a ninth in the 200. Dronen raced to a fifth place in the 400 meter run. Dronen was also one of the Waterville winners at the Brewster Coed Relays in Bridgeport April 14. He and Browning ran in the “gut race.” It is named that because it demands two alternate 400 meter runs by boy and girl competitors, making it 1600 meters overall. Dronen and Browning won the race by a full five seconds. The Coed Relays is a “non-counter” among the other track meets of the year, but it does provide some interesting combinations of boys and girls competition.

Waterville traveled to Okanogan April 21 for a meet with Tonasket, Soap Lake, Brewster and the host team. They will compete in the 18-team Rieke Invitational Track Meet at Peshastin April 24.