Waterville/Mansfield Junior High Kernels host Thorp

By James Robinson
Empire Press Correspondent

Jimena Garcia serves against Thorp in B-team action. (Empire Press photo/James Robinson)

The Waterville/Mansfield Kernels junior high volleyball teams played against the Thorp Tigers in a home contest March 1.

The Kernel B-team won their match but got off to a slow start losing their first set to the Tigers, 12-25. Thorp’s advantage was their ability to get the serve over the net and on the return, hitting fewer balls out of bounds than Waterville/Mansfield. The Kernels, with greatly improved serving, won the second set, 25-15. The third set of the match was even better for the home team with a win of 25-9.

Jasmine Garcia served very well in the second set, getting points on 10 consecutive serves. In the third set, she had 16 points on consecutive serves.

A-team members Katelyn Donaglia, Elsie Munson, Bailey Viebrock, Tiera Miller and Melissa Vela watch for the ball against Thorp on March 1. (Empire Press photo/James Robinson)

Playing on the B-team were Natalie Rendon, Eava Wood, Aspen Farrington, Lily Deshazer, Evalee Shafer, Mandy Regalie, Jasmine Garcia, Jimena Garcia, Caroline Petersen and Alysha McGraw.

Waterville/Mansfield’s A-team did not fair as well as they lost all three sets and the match. The Kernels had 12 girls suit up for the game, while the Tigers had only seven players. But the Tigers had a height advantage and players who were able to set the ball up to each other very well, thus scoring more often.

The Kernels lost the first set, 10-25. The second set was close until the very end. There were several lead changes between the two opponents but the Tigers came out on top with a final score of 25-20. The final set of the match was played to the first team reaching 15 points. The Tigers again played very well and ended the night with a 15-6 win.

Playing for the A-team were Katelyn Donaglia, Tiera Miller, Julia Ashley, Elsie Munson, Harlie Zones, Macy Carey, Alexia Garcia, Ella Osborne, Bailey Viebrock, Melissa Vela, Johnna Hope and Haley Vargas.