Our Past | 1957: High School, Middle School awards night

Selected by Karen Larsen


The following article, published in the May 30, 1957 edition of the Waterville Empire-Press, tells of that year’s annual school awards assembly.


Local Students Honored at Awards Assembly

Waterville High School held their annual awards assembly in the auditorium/gymnasium Friday afternoon.

The program opened with a flag salute and music by the Four Notes who have shown considerable improvement in their technique and music.

John Gollehon, valedictorian and David Willms, salutatorian took a good share of the honors. John won the Bausch and Lomb Science award, the Reader’s Digest award and Inspirational award in football.

One of the outstanding awards at the Assembly was the four-year perfect attendance award, which went to Pat Mooberry, son of Mr. and Mrs. Bill Mooberry.

The new members of the National Honor Society were announced. Charles Bisbee, Chairman of the School Board, presented diplomas to 27 members of the eighth grade. Certificates were presented to all schoolboy patrol members, and Pep Club presented letter awards for basketball and football.

Yell leaders for next year will be Shan Mooberry, Yvonne Cover, and Charlene Jackson.

Gordon Besel won the inspirational award for basketball. Managers Bobby Clements and Mike Hummel of the basketball team received their letters and a commendation from Dean Corn, coach.

The Boys State members this year are Gordon Sutor, American Legion, Mike Mooberry, Lions Club, and Janice Anderson, Girls State.

Richard Rinker won the Sportsmanship award. Patricia Coonan, the editor of the annual, and Jerry Viebrock, assistant, were introduced.

The Daily World Scholastic Team selected by Supt. Wheelon were introduced and included Mary Kay Wilson, Donna Bartholomew, David Willms, John Gollehon, and Delbert Elliott.

Billy Erwin won an award for perfect attendance for a year.

After two fine vocal solos by Jerry Viebrock, accompanied by Four Notes, Mayor Robert Gollehon announced winners of the essay contest sponsored by him on the subject, “Classroom Cheating—How and Why it Must Be Stopped.” Winners were Mary Kay Wilson, first, Marcia Carroll, second and Warren Wilkinson, third. Judges were Mrs. Frank B. Malloy, Mrs. Jane Hensel, and Mrs. Glen Rinker. Miss J. Alice McKnight organized the contest as English teacher.