Athletes honored at Crimson Awards

Baseball coach Cody Brunner. (Empire Press photo/James Robinson)


By James Robinson
Empire Press Correspondent

Empire Press photo/James Robinson
New Athletic Director Tony Williams and Master of Ceremonies Kieth Finkbeiner.

Tuesday May 22 was the 6th Annual Crimson Sports Awards for the Waterville/Mansfield high school sports program. Master of Ceremonies was Kieth Finkbeiner, history teacher and head coach of the girls? basketball program. Coaches of the various sports presented varsity letters and awards to the student athletes. The awards for Most Inspirational Player, Most Improved Player, and the Most Valuable Player are voted on by the students within that sport. Awards were also presented to players who made the ?All League Team? of the various sports. These awards are voted on by the coaches of all the conference teams.

Football awards were presented by head coach Mike Gray and assistant coach Del Mires.

Empire Press photo/James Robinson
Assistant track coach John Mullen.

Individual player awards:

Most inspirational, Cody Deshazer; Most improved, Jordan Davis; Most

valuable player, Johnny Mullen.

All League awards, 2nd Team Angel Lucero, honorable mention, Thomas Moser.

Girls? volleyball awards and letters were presented by head coach Melissa Flaget and assistant coach Jill Moomaw. Most Inspirational: Alyssa Hansen, Most Improved: Codee Fry, Most Valuable Player: Arianna Salcido. All League awards: 2nd team Arianna Salcido; honorable mention: Alex Poppie and Ali Mires.

Empire Press photo/James Robinson
Male Athlete of the Year: Jacob Stibal.

Boys? baseball awards were presented by head coach Cody Brunner and assistant coach Andy Stibal.

Most Inspirational: Ethan Petersen, Most Improved: Mac Van Lith, Most Valuable Player: Jacob Stibal. All League awards: 1st team Jacob Stibal, 2nd team Ethan Petersen and Will Osborne, Honorable mention: Tristin Marden. Homerun balls were presented to the players who hit home runs during the season: Cody Deshazer, Angel Lucero, Will Osborne, Tristin Marden, and Jacob Stibal (2).

Girls? softball awards were presented by head coach Ruben Salcido and assistant coaches Shari teacher and Brandon Zones. Most Inspirational: Claire Ashley, Most Improved: Cithlali Chavez, co MVP?s (Most Valuable Player): Cody Fry and Arianna Salcido. Coaches? award went to Alyssa Hansen. All Team: 1st team: Arianna Salcido; 2nd team Codee Fry and Alyssa Hansen.

Empire Press photo/James Robinson
Coach of the Year: Kris Daratha.

Girls? basketball awards were presented by head coach Kieth Finkbeiner and assistant Abbey O?Brien.

Most Inspirational: Ali Mires, Most Improved: Brooke Willms, Most Valuable Player: Justine Clements. Captain awards went to Lexi Deishl, Justine Clements, and Alyssa Hansen. All League awards; 1st team: Justine Clements, 2nd team: Elizabeth Katovich.

Boys basketball awards were presented by head coach Heath Jordan and assistants Derek Browning and Josh Barnes. Coach Jordan said the varsity only lost two home games this year and he thanked the fans and the pep band for their enthusiastic support. Most Inspirational: Ethan Petersen, Most Improved: Jordan Davis, Most Valuable Player: Johnny Mullen. The Rookie award went to Evan Simmons. Captain awards went to Jacob Stibal, Ethan Petersen, and Johnny Mullen. All League awards; 2nd team Johnny Mullen, honorable mention: Jacob Stibal.

Female Athlete of the Year: Lexi Deishl

Track and Field awards were given by head coach Kris Daratha and assistant coach John Mullen. Most Inspirational: Brook Simmons, Most Improved: Haley Moreno, Most Valuable Player: Evan Simmons. Eight student athletes went to state this year. Lexi Deishl placed 2nd in state in the pole vault. She was also district champion. Alex Poppie was 3rd in state in the long jump. Other District Champions: Elizabeth Katovich in the long jump, Sarah Mullen in the triple jump. All League awards: 1st team: Lexi Deishl, Sarah Mullen, Elizabeth Katovich; 2nd team: Alex Poppie; honorable mention; Evan Simmons.

Cheerleader awards were given my cheer coach Kaionni Deshazer and assistant Haley Newcomb: Football cheerleader Most Inspirational: Laura Castillo, Most Improved: Emily Thomsen, Most Valuable Ali Mires.

Basketball cheerleaders Most Inspirational: Elianna Silva, Most Improved; Elianna Silva, Most Valuable Haley Henson.

Male Athlete of the Year is Jacob Stibal. Female Athlete of the Year is Lexi Deishl. Coach of the Year is Kris Daratha.

Tony Williams was introduced as the new Athletic Director for the Waterville school. Alex Capi was recognized for his fourth place in power lifting at the state weight lifting meet. Super Fan of the year (voted on by those at awards ceremony via cell phone texting was senior student Miles Mittelstaedt. Twenty certificates were handed to recognize the many wonderful volunteers.

Guest speaker was Eric Bigger, a Waterville graduate of the class of 1980. He recalled playing baseball, basketball, football, and track and field. Bigger told the students, ?High school years go by fast, so be active in sports and do well in you academics.? He thanked the coaches for helping students learn to be team players. Bigger also talked about the importance of character, integrity, and being trustworthy.