Our College Students

News of college students from the Empire Press coverage area


Eastern Washington University

CHENEY — Myra Hernandez of East Wenatchee was recently initiated into Phi Kappa Phi, the nation’s oldest and most selective collegiate honor society for all academic disciplines. Membership is by invitation only and requires nomination and approval by a chapter. Only the top 10 percent of seniors and 7.5 percent of juniors are eligible for membership. Graduate students in the top 10 percent of the number of candidates for graduate degrees may also qualify, as do faculty, professional staff and alumni who have achieved scholarly distinction.

Gonzaga University

SPOKANE — The following students earned a spot on the Dean’s List for spring semester 2018. Students must receive a 3.5 to 3.84 grade-point average to be listed.

East Wenatchee: Hunter Brawley, Zoe Jaspers, Megan Lavagnino, McKenna Milacek, Julia Sanchez-Mendoza,

Waterville: Hanna Clements


Montana State University

BOZEMAN — Mark Fisher of East Wenatchee was named to the Dean’s Honor Roll at Montana State University for the 2018 spring semester. Students must complete a minimum of 12 degree-eligible credit hours and earn a grade-point average of 3.5 or above for the semester to be on the list.

Miami University

OXFORD, Ohio — Jenaia Narte of East Wenatchee was recently accepted into the Global Field Program (GFP) and will be taking classes toward a master’s degree in teaching biological sciences from Miami University through Project Dragonfly. Narte will complete web-based courses exploring biodiversity, conservation science and the relationship of biology with technology. This summer, Narte will travel to Baja to study the desert and marine landscapes of two biosphere reserves.


Wenatchee Valley College President’s List

WENATCHEE — The following students were named to Wenatchee Valley College’s winter quarter 2018 President’s List for earning a grade-point average of 4.00 in 12 or more college-level graded credits.

East Wenatchee: Hamza Abou-Ammo, Aydan Bailey, Kai Bailey, Aidan Barger, Logan Barger, Riley Bergan, Bailey Bresee, Matthew Carpenter, Nathan Carter, Juan Castaneda, Eloina Chavez, Harold Collins Jr., Denise Cordova, Guido Davico, Travis DeJarnett, Rebecca Dudek, Ashley Ewald, Talilia Gadbaw, Barat Hashemi, Jacob Herrin, Ethan Husted, Ivan Jensen, Marjorie Jordan-Sabo, Kathryn Kimball, Kristen McCamey, Jonathon Mitchell, Elizabeth Popoff, Christian Ruiz, Colton Sackman, Elaina Santacruz, Darrah Sims, Seth Suzelis, Miriam Thomas, Hallie Thuenen, Kimberly Townsend, Tiffany Tweed, Sara Wilson, Emalyne Youngren, Amalia Zapata

Brewster: Marlisa Garcia, Pio Martinez, Teresa Nila, Elizabeth Stam

Orondo: Kristin Dahlke, April Tedder

Rock Island: Josh Bollinger

Waterville: Sam Hooper, Madelyne McLeod