Swim team holds awards picnic


Members of the Waterville H2O swim team, their families and friends gather for the annual awards picnic on Aug. 2. (Empire Press photo/James Robinson)


By James Robinson
Empire Press Correspondent

The Waterville H2O swim team held its annual awards picnic Aug. 2, honoring 45 swimmers.

This was a good year for the team, according to head coach Samantha Fletcher.

“I am impressed at the improvement of the swimmers this year. Many of the students worked hard on their strokes and stamina,” Fletcher said.

All of the team members received a participant ribbon. Awards were also given out for some of the individual swim meets and for the all-league championship meet on July 28.

Fletcher presented awards to Deven Schulz, Mya DeFord and Konner Kendrick, most improved; Kaylee Norton, Wyatt Williams, Nathan Clune and Elsie Munson, outstanding swimmers; Hans Tonseth, Branson Barnes and Holly Finkbeiner, always helpful; and Elsie Munson, Kellee Kendrick and Cooper Hall, sportsmanship.

Fletcher thanked her two assistant coaches Riley Voie and Julia Tonseth. She also expressed appreciation to the many volunteers who helped at practices and the swim meets.

“I look forward to a great year next summer,” said Fletcher.

Following the picnic and awards, the children took to the water for an hour of swimming.