News From Our Past

From the pages of The Wenatchee (Daily) World and the Douglas County Empire Press

100 Years Ago — 1919

• A gang of 20 men have arrived and are at work repairing the damage done by high water this spring on the Corbaley Canyon section of the Sunset Highway. It will take from six weeks to two months to get the road in shape.


50 Years Ago — 1969

• New student body officers were named last month at Waterville High School for the coming year. They are Tony Long, president; Dave Slagle, vice president; Pattie Carroll, secretary; Paulette Madtson, treasurer; and Diane Slagle, business manager.

Bruce E. Slagle of Waterville was among 56 new initiates into Phi Eta Sigma, a national freshman men’s scholastic honorary at Washington State University.


25 Years Ago — 1994

• The Trailblazers 4-H Club had its recent horse show at the D-Diamond Stables in East Wenatchee. Sportsmanship awards went to Sarah Koeing, junior division; Sarah Bowman, intermediate; and Erin Behne, senior. Earning western high point awards were Lindsay Harley, senior; Shauna Mende, intermediate; and Rianna Smith, junior. English high point awards were given to Kristi Ross, senior; Michelle Morrison, intermediate; and Valerie Mende, junior.

• Washington State University has announced the names of students on the president’s honor roll for the spring term. They include Lance Dooley, Aimee Eskew, Taryn Essinger, Andrew Hall, Lisa Morrison, Jennifer Ness, Kimberly Van Hoven, Holly Weaver, William Wittgow and Kara Yenney, East Wenatchee; Nikki Lillquist, Cari Matthiesen and Brad Murison, Mansfield; and Bret Herres, Rock Island.


10 Years Ago — 2009

• Waterville Tree Board members have chosen their first Yard of the Month for the season. The yard belongs to Bert and Juanita Velasquez at 300 S. Harrison St.

• Athletes, coaches and parents gathered June 4 for the spring sports awards banquet. Girls softball awards were given to Valerie Loebsack, most valuable; Elsa Chambers, most inspirational; and Teresa Vieyra, most improved. Boys baseball awards were given to Chris Callesen, most valuable; Austin Hinderer, most inspirational; and Dirk Poppie, most improved. Golf awards went to Clayton Ramin, most valuable; Jesse Tollackson, most inspirational; and Briana Hinderer, most improved. Track awards went to Jose Rosiles, most valuable; Alex Hoyt, most inspirational; and Cody Prpich, most improved.

• The teams “Teachers Got Talent, Who Knew?” with Claude Day, Justin Grillo and Will Chisholm, and “Work in Progress” with Steven Miranda, Soren Myrbo, Mars Chambers and Brett Toomey, tied for first place in a June 1 talent show at Waterville School. The event was organized by leadership students Shelby Molinar and Samantha Littrell. Performers ranged in age from elementary school students to adults.

• Athletic director Mike Gray informed the Waterville School Board that the football team will be back in the 11-man league for the fall season. The last two seasons have fielded an 8-man team.

Karina Garnica, a senior at Waterville High School, has been named this year’s recipient of the $600 Jeanette R. Goldthorpe Scholarship. Garnica plans to focus her study in the medical assistant program at Wenatchee Valley College.

• Waterville High School’s team placed first in Douglas County Envirothon competition for the fifth consecutive year which promoted them to state competition. Team members were Alex Hoyt, Chris Rinke, Bernardo Alvarez, Pedro Caballero and Andrew Frare. Science teacher Lucy Zychek was faculty advisor. The team was sponsored by the South Douglas Conservation District.